Skip to content

Just another Wednesday

April 14, 2010

People think that being a vegan is difficult. Guess what– it’s not! The day to day of an environmentally conscious person is hardly different than that of a styrofoam using, meat eating, plastic bag loving Average Joe. I’ll show you how My Vegan Day is just like any other, but much more sustainable!

*Note: Not all of my days are mundane; this is my first year away at college and I have had some wild and fascinating times. This past semester alone I have met the President of Whole Foods Walter Robb, 350.org founder Bill McKibben, publicist Lauren Cerand and more. Next week I get to meet Michael Pollan… I might literally pass out with joy!!*
 

 

 I’ll start today with the basics though; it’s just another Wednesday. Wake up time was 7:50. I climbed down angrily from my bunk bed (yes, I am 19 years old and sleep in a bunk bed) and wanted nothing more than to go back to sleep.

 

 

 

 

 

After getting ready, taking my B 12 vitamin, filling up my Nalgene water bottle and completing my other matutinal tasks, it was off to class.

 

Class was full of freedom of speech and religion, considering that is the title of the course. It was hard to stay awake, but alas, I made it! I took this time to half absorb the content of the class discussion and with the other half I planned my day, which was going to be a pretty average one.

 

My class finally ended and I hit the library cafe. I snagged a tasty cliff bar and a soy chai tea latte (heaven!) while avoiding the partially hydrogenated and animal product filled garbage.

 

 

Then it was time for French (Je suis végétalien!) and lunch after. My school has a great variety of vegetables and fruits as well as grains to choose from for a healthy meal.

 

 Now I’m back in the library before going to work here on my beautiful campus. I love my job!

   Until then, I’m going to work on spreading The Vegolution to the world and study something or other.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

________________________________

I was a vegetarian for many years and a hardcore vegan for a year and 8 months. I quit my lifestyle half way through my senior year and gradually gained weight (20+ pounds total), felt completely unhealthy and my emotions were all over the place.

About 3 months ago,  (almost a year since I stopped being a vegan) I put my foot down and decided to go 100% vegan and never look back. Now I feel infinitely healthier, I’ve lost about 5 pounds and I could not be happier!

I want to share my life with people who think that it is impossible to be a happy vegan or think that vegans only eat lettuce. It is not a difficult life to live and the benefits are so much more valuable than a piece of dead cow.

Next time you think it’s too hard to be vegan, think again! I can show you how to live the good life, and if you have any questions about nutrition, inspiration or the overall meaning of life, ask away!

Have a great day, I hope you’ll stop by again!


-NBC

p.s. check out The Vegolution Facebook group and my fledgling tumblr page!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 9:35 pm

    I dig your new blog! It’s informative and fun, nice photos too; a great way to educate people on the truth about the many bad things about animal-products and the many good things about veganism. I have some info and links on my “Mother Earth & Meat” wordpress post you be interested in. Also, that’s really helpful to people unfamiliar to walk them through a day not using any animal products, showing them it’s not hard. Well done!

  2. April 14, 2010 11:08 pm

    Awesome! I love new vegan blogs, and I love your enthusiasm :) Plant-based is the way to go!

  3. April 15, 2010 3:48 am

    I agree I love vegan supporters! Im a struggling vegan myself and I would love to hear about your struggles as well! Keep rocking vegan girl! WOOO!

  4. marisashealthykitchen permalink
    April 15, 2010 4:22 am

    You are adorable! I love your new blog already :) GO VEGAN!!!!!

  5. April 15, 2010 12:19 pm

    Being vegan is easy and above all is fun! You’ll begin a process of thinking about the impact your actions have on the world around you, the consequences of your buying behaviour, what you ingest and the effect it can have on you. PLUS think about how fun it is going out and discovering vegan fashion items! I find it a real challenge (although it’s pretty easy nowadays) :)

    You’re doing a great job! I’ll be following you.
    PP

  6. September 25, 2010 11:37 pm

    Keep up the great work. I know someone who started a Veg group at Vanderbilt University and it’s been thriving. You should connect to it on FB….
    tp://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=115318037984&ref=ts
    Give Danielle Williams the founder and president a props for her awesome work, in spite of her also working a job, having a major and 2 minors and other volunteer work like going to Haiti to help earthquake victims, etc…

    John

Leave a Reply

